NPLQ 8th Edition

NPLQ 8th Edition


On the 20th September 2011 at Leisure Industry Week the Royal Life Saving Society UK (RLSS UK) introduced the National Pool Lifeguard Qualification 8th Edition (NPLQ 8th Edition).


Although the RLSS UK is going to be calling the National Pool Lifeguard Qualification the “8th Edition” we must say that it is much more than just an update to the existing qualification. The new qualification heralds the biggest change in 20 years of the RLSS UK Pool Lifeguarding qualifications. Not since the pool bronze changing to the NPLQ have we seen such a change.


Why Change?


Back in the summer of 2009, after significant anecdotal evidence from Trainers and Approved Training Centres (ATCs) we began to scope out a project to first determine whether the feedback we were receiving warranted a change to the NPLQ or its delivery. We completed research into international qualifications, reviewing their syllabi, training methods, and discussions with leading...






NPLQ 8th Edition FAQ's


NPLQ 8th Edition FAQ's from the TA Updates