The Survive & Save Programme is our lifesaving award scheme for anyone aged 12 years and over. The awards are challenging but fun to complete and are arranged into Bronze, Silver and Gold levels to ensure that participants get the opportunity to develop their lifesaving skills as they progress through the awards.

The Strands

There are four award areas to experience, the Medallion Awards, the Beach Awards, the Stillwater Awards and the Sport Awards and you can choose to specialise in one area or learn a broader range of skills by completing multiple awards.

The highest achievement in the Survive & Save Programme is the Distinction Award, which is awarded to those who achieve 3 Gold Level awards within a 24-month period.

Working through the programme

The examples below show two different pathways through the awards:

Example 1

Shows a new candidate following a simple pathway through the Medallion Lifesaving Awards.

Example 2

Shows a candidate who has previous lifesaving experience. This candidate has started the awards at silver level, first taking the Silver and Gold Beach Lifesaving Awards, and then diversifying into the Medallion and Stillwater awards.

If the candidate can demonstrate sufficient skills and relevant experience they may start the programme at the Silver Level. Candidates may wish to back purchase the Bronze Level in that strand after successful completion of their Silver Level without the need for re-assessment.

Book on a Course

If you would like to find out more about Survive and Save please email [email protected] 

To find a course near you click here.

Instructor qualifications

There are two Instructor qualifications available for the RLSS UK Survive & Save Programme.

Lifesaving Instructor qualification – Teach and assess the Survive & Save Programme Awards*

Lifesaving Instructor Tutor qualification – Teach and assess the Survive & Save Programme Awards*, and teach and assess the Lifesaving Instructor Course (to qualify new Lifesaving Instructors)

*RLSS UK Open water endorsement required for open water awards.

Do you want to become a Lifesaving Instructor or Tutor? Click here to find out more.


For all the Frequently Asked Questions on the Survive and Save Award please click here.