The RLSS UK Life Support programme is a CPR education programme with an optional basic First Aid element. There are two awards in the programme, Life Support and Life Support 3, which are both certificated by RLSS UK. 

Life Support is designed for all members of the community and can be taken as a separate standalone award, whilst Life Support 3 is for instructors and those training.

The Life Support Programme can be delivered by Lifesaving Academy Instructors (and higher) and Trainer Assessors (and higher). 

About Life Support 

This award establishes a competent level of skill in Basic Life Support (learnt on an adult manikin) and in the treatment of choking. 

Life Support Prerequisites 

There are no prerequisites required before taking the Life Support award. There is no minimum age limit. 

Course Content  

Award Syllabus: 

  • Awareness of own safety
  • Turning a casualty onto their back
  • Checking responsiveness
  • Sequence and application of CPR and AED
  • Managing regurgitation
  • Recovery position
  • Treatment of choking 

Optional First Aid: 

  • Treatment of bleeding
  • Treatment of shock 


The award is trainer-assessed. 


There is no renewal process for this award. It expires after two years and the full assessment must be taken. 

Book on a Course 

To find your nearest Life Support courses visit Course Finder or email us for more details at [email protected].

Next steps

On completion of a Life Support 3 qualification, the next step is to complete other RLSS UK first aid courses, including Emergency First Aid at Work (EFAW)First Aid at Work (FAW), Emergency Paediatric First Aid (EPFA), Paediatric First Aid (PFA), Automated External Defibrillator (AED) Programme or Anaphylaxis Management. You can find information on all the courses we offer by clicking here.